Glaucoma_Just Poke Me in the Eye (Update)

peer into the eye

I am now 5-months post-op. I had SLT (Selective Laser Trabeculoplasty) done on my eyes to treat my glaucoma. My recent visit went very well. My pressures are 17 and 18. That is a good thing for me. My field of vision remains normal. How many of you hate that blasted computer field of vision test? For those of you who have done this test you know what I mean, for those who havn’t I will explain. With glaucoma there is a risk of damage to the optic nerve. When there is damage to the nerve it effects your peripheral vision. Put simply, this means you may be able to see straight ahead but you may have vision loss to the sides. To get an idea of what I mean hold your hands around your ears and wiggle your fingers. When you can see your fingers this is your peripheral vision. You can slowly lose this side vision with glaucoma. One way to test your peripheral vision is a computerized test. You click a button every time you see a light. It doesn’t hurt, and it only takes 10 minutes. The thing I think I hate the most is that if I fail it means I have eye damage that can’t be repaired. I hope that day never comes.

I was asked in a comment on my last glaucoma post if SLT works on patients with PDS. At my Dr. visit I asked my Ophthalmologist, Richard A. Weise M.D. at Glendale Eye Medical Group 607 N. Central Ave. Ste. 105 Glendale Ca 91263-1879 if SLT works with this condition. He said SLT was a great option for patients with Pigmentary glaucoma. (Disclaimer: remember you must check out all medical procedures and options thoroughly before choosing a treatment that will work for you).

What is PDS (from Wikipedia)

Pigment dispersion syndrome (PDS) is an affliction of the eye that, if left untreated, can lead a form of glaucoma known as pigmentary glaucoma. It takes place when pigment cells slough off from the back of the iris and float around in the aqueous humor. This is not what causes problems; however, if the pigment flakes clog the trabecular meshwork, preventing the liquids in the eye from draining, pressure can build up inside the eye. This pressure can cause permanent damage to the optic nerve.

This condition is rare, but occurs most often in Caucasians, particularly men, and the age of onset is relatively low: mid 20s to 40s. Most sufferers are nearsighted.

There is no cure as of yet, but PDS can be managed with eye drops or treated with simple surgeries. If caught early and treated, chances of glaucoma are greatly reduced. Sufferers are often advised not to engage in high-impact sports such as long-distance running or martial arts, as strong impacts can cause more pigment cells to slough off.

Until next time I wish you well,

Tamara

One response to “Glaucoma_Just Poke Me in the Eye (Update)

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review | Flying Kitten ……… movie medic music mama

Leave a Reply

