Movie Crew on location in the Desert

I have not been great at blogging lately. My job as a movie medic took me to the desert and my Internet connection was not very good. It was also very dusty and hot and my computer preferred to stay in its case. Our hotel was about an hour away from this location. We would load up in trucks and busses at the beginning and end of the day to head back and forth to the hotels. When a movie crew enters a small town, we kind of take over. Many times we fill all the hotels in the area. The good side is we spend lots of money in those small towns, so I guess it is good for all of us.

Out in the desert my office or medical center is under a portable cabana. This being said, I have to be ready to pick up my gear and move it fast. Sometimes the camera shot changes and you will be right in the shot if you don’t move. I also need to be ready to move my gear and load it quickly into a truck to be transported to the next location. The transportation team has to work efficiently and in a coordinated manner to get all the gear and equipment, as well as the crew to the next location. It still fascinates me how fast we can move enormous amounts of equipment and people. It really takes skill and team work. The transportation department can really make a difference on how your day goes. I feel very privileged to work with some of the best in the business.

This is the kind of terrain that movie crews have to contend with. It was around 100-105 degrees Fahrenheit on this day. Portable bathrooms are approximately 30-minutes down a bumpy road. Behind this serene scene are many trucks, trailers, and crewmembers. I can’t disclose where these pictures were taken as I was sworn to secrecy. I will tell you that I was working on the movie Transformers 2. As far as I can tell this movie is going to be action packed and spectacular. I am glad I had the opportunity to be a small part of it.

2 responses to “Movie Crew on location in the Desert

  1. Sounds like a lot of fun. I’m a medic in texas, and was wondering how to become a movie medic. If you are able to help, let me know.

  2. Yes Layne it is a lot of fun. I love it. It does however, take a certain type of person. You must be ready to work very long hours 12-18 hours daily. You must be self-motivated. There are some weeks when you are working with a new movie crew everyday. It’s like starting a new job everyday. If that freaks you out then this job is not for you. You must be good at directions and driving to wierd locations in the dark. You could be working in the rain, snow, wind, dust, and heat. One day you are working at a mansion the next in an alley on Skid Row. You might have to climb up a steep ladder and through a hatch door to get to the rooftop of a skyscraper.

    The days are long and varied. I enjoy working with many creative geniuses. There is always something new happening. New people, new places, new projects, new job search.

    It took me about 4 years to become a union member. Here is the link to the
    Movie Medic Union. It tells you what you need to do.

    I hope this helps a bit.
    Good Luck to you,

    Tamara

Leave a Reply

