Coloring Easter Eggs – There’s Still Time

You don’t have much time left if you want to dye eggs for Easter Sunday. I just dyed mine this morning.

I was inspired to get to it and dye my Easter eggs by another blogger who did a post  about Dyeing Easter Eggs! Thanks LB&J.

© FlyingKitten 2010

I had a Martha Stewart magazine on my coffee table with beautifully colored eggs on the  cover. In the magazine I found detailed instruction on how to make the eggs. I only followed some of the instructions. Mostly about using electrical tape to make the designs. I kind of just guessed as I went along. I didn’t want to make a big production out of it.  I wanted to keep it fun and simple. My daughter and I had fun working on them together. That is the most important thing to me.

I only wanted to use what I had on hand. No going to the store. This is what I used

Tools and StuffDyingEggs

  • Eggs
  • Cups
  • Forks
  • Electrical Tape
  • Food Coloring
  • Apple Cider Vinegar ( I did not have white vinegar)
  • Water

Directions:

The first thing I did was to blow out the eggs. You can learn how to blow out eggs here

Next, I made sure they were clean and dry.

I used the electrical tape to make the designs.  I just used scissors to cut shapes. Then I stuck the tape pieces onto the eggs. Try to seal the edges carefully.

I Squirt some dye into the cup added a swig of vinegar, then added some water (add enough water to submerge the eggs).

Now you are ready to dye the eggs.

dying easter eggs

dying Easter Eggs

Let the eggs sit in the water for a few minutes. Take them out using a fork or spoon and set them into the egg container.

Use a paper towel to dry the eggs completely before removing the tape.

That’s it. The eggs are done. Now just add them to your Easter Baskets or table centerpiece. I was much happier with the outcome after putting them into the baskets.

The Finished Product

I did some fast typing on this post, so please forgive the typos and such. I wanted to get the post before Easter LOL.

Happy Easter,

Share

4 responses to “Coloring Easter Eggs – There’s Still Time

  1. Hey that is a really cool idea! I think I will do that next year. It does seem pretty easy!

  2. Thanks for stopping by. It really was easy. I think the hardest part is blowing out the eggs. This was my first time. I used a syringe with needle to help the process. It saved me from using my mouth on the egg.

  3. What a clever way to color Easter eggs…I’ll have to try this with my kids next year.

  4. Thanks Pam,
    It was very easy. Thank you for stopping by. I appreciate it.

    I love your site
    http://fortheloveofcooking-recipes.blogspot.com/ you make everything look so yummy.

Leave a Reply

