Best Corn Chowder I’ve Ever Made

I was having a craving for corn chowder a while back so I headed to my pantry and started looking to see what I had to make it. This recipe is what I came up with. My husband loved it and so did I. Our DD loved it too. It was  super easy to make and didn’t take very long. Quick and easy is what I like when it comes to cooking daily meals

Ingredients for 6-8 servings:
2-14 3/4oz. cans Del Monte sweet creamed corn
2 cups Organic low sodium vegetable broth
1 cup 1/2 & 1/2
1 medium onion chopped
10 slices bacon cooked and crumbled (I used Trader Joes fully cooked apple smoked bacon).
2 Lbs. Organic klamath pearl potatoes cut into bite-size chunks (skin on) I also got these at TJ’s
Pinch of red pepper flakes
salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
Chop and dice the potatoes and onions. In a large stock pot cook bacon. (This only took a minute with the pre-cooked bacon). Remove bacon and set on paper towels. Leave a tsp. of bacon grease in the pot. I did not have to drain any. Add the onions and potatoes. Saute for two minutes. Add the cream corn and vegetable broth. Cook on simmer for approximately 20 minutes, stirring every 5 minutes or so. When the potatoes are tender add the crumbled bacon, 1/2 & 1/2, pepper flakes, and salt and pepper. Gently simmer for another 10 minutes. Oh boy I almost forgot. I used a potato masher inside the pot to make the soup thick and chunky. I did not want it pureed.

I think this was so tasty because… The potatoes did not get mushy. Leaving the peel on made it easier. Using pre-cooked bacon was a big time saver. The ingredient list was short. It was done in less than 30 minutes, and my husband raved about it.

It is not low-cal, but I did not care it was too good. Add a simple green salad and you are set with a delicious lunch or dinner. Enjoy!

Print Recipe

6 responses to “Best Corn Chowder I’ve Ever Made

  1. Wow, Tamara! This sounds so great for a cold winter night light tonight! I’m going to make it – and I’m really glad you shared about the already cooked Applewood Smoked Bacon at Trader Joes! I’m going to get some and avoid the greasy kitchen. You are the best! XO Candy

  2. I’m with you Candy, I don’t cook bacon very often and don’t like the greasy kitchen so the precooked is perfect.
    Hope you enjoy the soup as much as we did.

  3. Loving your recipes, and neat tips! Glad to have connected with you. I am awarding you the Sunshine award. Please find the details and collect your award at begintocraft.blogspot.com

  4. Hi Jessica, I’m so happy you stopped by. I also glad we connected. The Sunshine award, how cool is that. I will head over to your site to learn more. Thank you

  5. I’ve never tried corn chowder, sweetcorn soup never sounded that appealing to me, this however sounds delicious!

Leave a Reply

